Raspberry Pi 3 B+ boot problem

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
elliott2
Raspberry Pi 3 B+ boot problem

I'm new to Hivetool and I'm new to the Raspberry Pi. I am fairly fluent in Linux but by no means an expert. I've recently purchased a hivetool rev 0.3 HAT and along with it cam the SD card. I cloned the SD card to have a spare copy. When I boot the Pi3 B+ I get the color rainbow screen and the screen show a lightening bolt on the upper corner. From what I've gathered on the web this indicates an incompatible boot loader. (https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=58151)

From the web link...
"If you have one of the latest PI 3B+ which won't boot and it keeps stuck on the rainbow screen, while also displaying the under voltage (lightening bolt) icon, and/or the red LED flashing then you are simply are using boot code that is too old. Please download the very latest version of Raspbian, or do an upgrade to it."

I've downloaded the NOOBS package , removed the Hivetool HAT and booted and installed the Raspbian OS and the Pi3 B+ works fine.

Any suggestions on how to fix this problem. Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Tim

Paul
Paul's picture
Version 0.8.1 rc 1

Version 0.8.1 rc 1 is available for downloading (and testing). It is built on the latest Raspbian Stretch Release Kernel version 4.14 April 18 2018. This should fix the problem of the Pi 3 B+ not booting.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1VqaEclr69SIgZLA6sbyahpniUwuBrfEN/view?u...

Sorry, Tim. Apparently HiveTool version 0.8.0 somehow got released with a boot loader that is incompatible with the Pi 3 B+. Someone else also reported the problem about a week before you. I built the 0.8.0 image on an older Pi, even tested it on a Pi Zero, with no problems, BUT didn't have a 3B+.

My initial testing with with 0.8.0 on my new 3 B+ has the same rainbow screen, the lightening bolt, and the red LED flashing. I assumed the lightning bolt and flashing LED was a power supply problem ...