What is an acceptable amount of drift for unloaded scale

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
wwfoste

I’m working on getting my hive scale back up and running. I'm updating the software for my scale to the new release and recalibrating it. What would an acceptable amount of drift for an unloaded scale be considered?

It started out at -0.02 lbs but has drifted up to -0.13 lbs over the course of 3 hours. It’s currently unloaded and just sitting in my house. What range would you consider acceptable for it to bounce around in before I call it good enough? What would be the cause of that, and is there a way to fix it?

Paul
Paul's picture

When a scale is first turned on, I often see about 0.2 lbs drift in the first 2 to 3 hours. This is true also with the Adam Equipment scale we started with. I am not an expert but I think it is from the heating of the strain gauge when it is excited. Even though that is only for a few milliseconds every 5 minutes in our case, that is enough to cause a thermal drift.

It could also be the electronics (voltage reference in the ADC) moving around.

For the worst case (if you believe the spec sheet), see this link for a quick (and possibly flawed) theoretical thermal analysis based on the spec sheets for the load cells:
http://hivetool.org/w/index.php?title=Interface_the_HX711_to_Pi#Temperat...

You can also check the long term drift, creep, and return to zero. Load it with something heavy that is not affected by humidity. Leave it for 24 to 48 hours and look at the drift. If held at a constant temperature, the change would be creep. Then unload it and see how close to the original setting (return to zero) it is.

The most important is the temperature drift after it has warmed up. You can measure the thermal drift by leaving it outside with a constant weight on it. I like to see less than +/-0.01 lbs over a normal daily temperature swing.

wwfoste
Scale drifting up